Review – “Contraband” Trailer – 2012

Plot: A security guard with financial troubles considers a return to his smuggling ways when an associate offers a potentially lucrative opportunity. (IMDB)

Directed by: Baltasar Kormákur

Starring: Mark Wahlberg, Giovanni Ribisi, Kate Beckinsale

Release Date: January 13, 2012

Contraband, illegal smuggling. So when I saw this one, I was like “Mark Wahlberg, YESSSS” so I watched the trailer. I really liked the music to the trailer. So now, I really love the Lil Wayne Red Nation song or whatever it’s called. So this guy is an ex-criminal who was like CIA trained. I feel like this is gonna be like a retired CIA Agent movie where he has to come out of retirement and do a job, then his family is taken away, and he just goes crazy and kills everyone. Then it ends happily. Not like Taken though, that was a very good movie. I felt the trailer to be very informative of the story. I also like how the criminals wrapped their heads in duck tape. That was just an “Oh yeah that was freaking awesome” moment right there.

At 0:39 when Wahlberg just has that Liam Neeson face on and ready to kill was just awesome. One of the parts I didn’t like but also made me laugh was Giovanni Ribisi’s gangster voice. It was some high pitched weird 15 year old boy voice.

Overall Trailer Rating: 8.0

Story: 7.5

Cinematic Look: 8.0

Music: 8.0

Entertainment: 8.5

